top of page

Brighton: The Perfect Seaside Day Trip from London


Just 50 miles south of London lies the historic and quirky seaside town known as Brighton. Archeologists believe occupation of this area dates back to the Bronze Age, so this city truly has a historic past. During the 18th and 19th centuries, Brighton became a popular tourist destination after British royalty choose this town for a seaside resort. Today you can tour the royal residence, in addition to exploring the pebble beach and the famous pier.

Below is my 1-day itinerary for a Brighton day trip. I visited in mid-April and I experienced both snow and sunshine during my trip. Be prepared that this is a British beach and the weather will not be the same as a beach in a warmer climate. However, June and July can be great times to visit if you are interested in more of a traditional beach day. Regardless of when you visit, there are plenty of unique activities to create a full day trip.

 

I recommend either using a bus or a train to travel between Brighton and London. I choose to use the National Express bus, which offers fares as low as £5 (roughly $7) one way. I purchased my tickets from the Victoria Coach Station a few days in advance, but these can also be purchased online. Since we hit some traffic on the route, the bus trip took about 2 hours. In addition to the bus, the train is a great option. There are many rail options that travel between London and Brighton daily and these trips generally take about one hour. The bus and trains both drop off in locations that are a short walk to the city center, so these are very convenient travel options.

One you have arrived in Brighton there are many great places to explore. My favorite site was the Royal Pavilion. If this was all I had done in Brighton I still think the trip would have been worth it. I have toured a few different royal residences, but I have never seen anything like the Royal Pavilion. Built in 1823, this palace originally served as a seaside retreat for King George IV. The exterior of the residence was completely white and the design was inspired by Indian architecture. This complemented the Chinese-inspired interior. Unfortunately, photographs were not allowed inside the Pavilion, but this did allow more time to focus on the details of the residence. The banqueting hall was the most impressive room and it was complete with a huge chandelier held up by a dragon sculpture. An audio tour can be purchased for £2, or a free audio tour is available if you use your own mobile phone. I highly recommend adding this impressive residence to your Brighton itinerary.

After visiting the Royal Pavilion I decided to make the short 5 minute walk to the pebble beach. It was snowing but I still wanted to put my hand in the English Channel. For a while it felt like I had a private beach, since it was a little cold for most people to make a beach day trip. However, since I was not planning on getting in the water, the weather did not change any of my plans for the day!

I visited in 2014 and during that time the Brighton Wheel offered visitors the option of gaining a unique perspective of the beach and pier. Unfortunately, this attraction closed in 2016 but it has since been replaced with a zip line attraction.

The highlight of my beach time was exploring the Brighton Palace Pier. This pier includes many traditional amusement rides and a few restaurants. I grabbed some delicious fish and chips for lunch and enjoyed these while taking in the seaside views.

Next I visited the Brighton Museum. A History Pass can be purchased which allows access into both the museum and the Royal Pavilion. This museum offered interesting information on local history, as well as a few other rotating exhibits. During my visit there was an Ancient Egypt exhibit on display.

After the museum I walked through a cute shopping district called The Lanes, which houses many independent boutiques and shops. From there I headed to St. Paul's Church. Visitors are welcome to tour this 19th century church, and I enjoyed looking at the ornate decorations and the gorgeous stained glass windows.

St. Paul's was my last stop before heading to the station for my return trip. Brighton makes for the perfect day trip from London and I am so glad I was able to explore this cute town.

 

Are you planning a trip to Brighton? Let me know what sites you are going to visit in the comments below!

If you liked this post feel free to share it or pin it!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page